The Shins reveal new album details

December 14th, 2011

Bloggers everywhere are already making room on their best albums of 2012 with the announcement of the brand new album from The Shins called Port Of Morrow. Read more

Radiohead will play new songs on 2012 tour

December 14th, 2011

As if seeing Radiohead in 2012 wasn’t enough to make you yearn for the new year, a new piece of information courtesy of rhythm guitarist Ed O’Brien should make you wanna start singing “Auld Lang Syne” today. Read more

RiO!B episode – December 14, 2011

December 14th, 2011

I recently saw the prologue to The Dark Knight Rises and it was pretty damn awesome. But it also got me thinking about the music in superhero movies. Read more

Metallica releases Beyond Magnetic EP

December 12th, 2011

Would ya look at that? All those previously unreleased tracks that have been leaking online all week from Metallica? Turns out the band has released them as an EP on iTunes called Beyond Magnetic.

The four tracks, “Just A Bullet Away,” “Hate Train,” “Hell And Back” and “Rebel Of Babylon,” will be available for download in the U.S. starting this week in honor of the band’s 30th anniversary which they’ve celebrated this whole week. Of course, since all those tracks leaked onto the web you can check them out here.

So what did the band have to say about this new EP?

During the Death Magnetic album sessions in 2007 and 2008, we originally recorded 14 songs. When it came time to pick the songs for the final album, we decided on 10 songs that you’ve all come to know over the last three years… Some of you may have heard bits and pieces of those other songs on ‘Mission Metallica’ (remember ‘Mission Metallica’?!) or heard rumors about them during the recording process, and wondered, ‘What ever happened to those other four songs???.’ We kept them in the vault and decided to pull them just for this special celebration, so here are the four leftover tracks from the Death Magnetic sessions. They are ROUGH mixes, unfinished to their original degree of mixing from March ’08. These four songs were released as gift to our closest fans, the members of our Fan Club, to enjoy. Now they’re being made available to you.

Beyond Magnetic EP tracklist 1. “Hate Train” 2. “Just A Bullet Away” 3. “Hell And Back” 4. “Rebel Of Babylon”

Watch: David Fincher directs video for Trent Reznor’s cover of “Immigrant Song”

December 12th, 2011

The soundtrack for The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, done by Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, is finally available to purchase. But now, for the first time, we get visuals for one of the songs done for the film.

Up top, you can check out a collage video done by the film’s director, David Fincher, set to the sound of the cover of Led Zeppelin’s “Immigrant Song” done by Reznor and Ross which features the vocal stylings of Karen O of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Don’t be surprised if the video kinda gives you a weird, creepy feeling while you watch. It’s supposed to do that…while also making you dance a bit. It’s also being reported that said video will also serve as the film’s title sequence (via Stereogum).

The movie is in theaters on December 21st and the physical release of the soundtrack lands on December 27th.

Tool announce 2012 U.S tour dates

December 12th, 2011

Talk about an awesome holiday surprise. Looks like if you’re a Tool fan that lives in the southwest…or Ohio, you’re gonna get a chance to see the band live. Read more

Red Hot Chili Peppers announce West coast tour dates

December 12th, 2011

Get ready West coast because the Red Hot Chili Peppers are coming your way in February of 2012. The band just announced five dates in California, Colorado and Arizona that will start with a show on February 17th in Oakland, CA. Read more

Sublime With Rome drummer leaves the band

December 11th, 2011

So I guess Sublime With Rome will now be called….With Rome?

In an interview with L.A. radio station KROQ, original Sublime drummer Bud Gaugh who laid down the beats for Sublime 2. Read more

Watch: Radiohead perform Supercollider on Live From The Basement

December 11th, 2011

When Radiohead performed on Live From The Basement this past summer fans became quite excited since, at the time, there were no plans for the band to do any touring behind The King Of Limbs. Read more

Queens Of The Stone Age, The Gaslight Anthem, My Morning Jacket and more appear on Amnesty International compilation

December 11th, 2011

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of Amnesty International, the group has released a massive compilation called Chimes of Freedom: The Songs of Bob Dylan Honoring 50 Years of Amnesty International. Read more